The New Southern California Basketball Server
SoCalHoops High School News

Girls Division I-AA Bracket:
First Round Pairings--(Feb 13, 2000)

Like the boys' bracket, this is a very large bracket, a 64 team bracket, with 51 teams and  involving 13 "byes" in the first round.  Basically, the top four teams (using the SCIBCA Polls) were the "seeded" teams, and they are at the extreme ends of both halves of the brackets.  The rest of the teams were placed such that first place league finishers (who also mostly happened to be ranked teams) got first round byes, where available.  Thereafter, the teams were placed using league finishes, geographical considerations were applied and so on.  While we can't say that the bracketing is perfect, the committee(which this year consisted of five CIF commissioners--(Ray Plutko, a former CIF Southern Section Commissioner, Dean Crowley, also a former CIF-SS Commissioner, Jim Staunton, current CIF-SS Commissioner, Hal Harkness, the former LA CIF Section Commissioner, and Paul Castillo, the new Assistant Commissioner of Basketball for the Southern Section) did a pretty fair and equitable job in our view.  But if you have complaints, talk to them.

All first round games are on February 17, and the second round is on February 19, with successive rounds shown in the bracketing.

First round games
February 17
  Second Round
February 19
  Third Round
Feb 23
Feb. 26
Feb. 29
Mar.3 or  4
@ The Pyramid
Upper half of Bracket          
First-Quarter Bracket          
Ayala @ Bye Ayala        
San Gorgonio @ Santa Ana Valley
Rio Mesa @ Leuzinger  
Arroyo Grande @ Peninsula
Aliso Niguel @ Ontario Westminster  
Westminster @ Bye
Palmdale @ Crescenta Valley Oxnard
Oxnard @ Bye
Second-Quarter Bracket      
LB Wilson @ Bye LB Wilson    
Chaffey @ Canyon Springs
Santa Maria @ Bye Santa Maria
Glendora @ Eisenhower
Etiwanda @ Bye Etiwanda  
Schurr @ Millikan
Glendale @ Bell Gardens  
Redlands E. Valley @ Esperanza
Lower Half of Bracket        
Third-Quarter bracket        
El Toro @   Bye El Toro      
Rancho Cucamonga Valley View
Santa Monica Valencia/V  
Alhambra LB Poly
Channel Islands Warren AB Miller  
AB Miller Bye
Santa Ana Chino Irvine
Irvine Bye
Fourth-Quarter Bracket      
Yucaipa Bye Yucaipa    
Righetti Camarillo
Murrieta Valley Bye Murrieta Valley
Jordan Diamond Bar
Fontana Capistrano Valley Century  
Century Bye
Lakewood Saddleback Lynwood
Lynwood Bye

Essentially, through the first rounds, teams receiving a bye in the first round shall be the host team in the next round. All games with the excepiton fo the final round will start at 7:30 p.m. unless another time is mutually agreed upon and clearance is received from the CIF-SS Office.  Public coin flips will be held in the lobby of the CIF-SS Office at 9:00 a.m. ithe day following each playoff game [these coin flips will determine subsquent sites after the first round, i.e., which school will be the host].  Coin flips will be available after 9:30 a.m. and we'll try to keep everyone posted with them here. 

The Swish Award
Copyright SoCalHoops 1999 All rights reserved
Questions? Comments? Need Information?

Hosted by WebCom