The New Southern California Basketball Server
SoCalHoops High School News

Girls Division II-A Bracket:
First Round Pairings--(Feb 13, 2000)

Division II-A is a 32 team bracket.  No wild cards, and unbelievably, only two at large entries in the bracket (Elsinore and Dos Pueblos). As with the other brackets, the top four teams (using the SCIBCA Polls) were the "seeded" teams, and they are at the extreme ends of both halves of the brackets.  The rest of the teams were placed such that first place league finishers (who also mostly happened to be ranked teams) got first round byes, where available.   Thereafter, the teams were placed using league finishes, geographical considerations were applied and so on.  While we can't say that the bracketing is perfect, the committee(which this year consisted of five CIF commissioners--(Ray Plutko, a former CIF Southern Section Commissioner, Dean Crowley, also a former CIF-SS Commissioner, Jim Staunton, current CIF-SS Commissioner, Hal Harkness, the former LA CIF Section Commissioner, and Paul Castillo, the new Assistant Commissioner of Basketball for the Southern Section) did a pretty fair and equitable job in our view.  But if you have complaints, talk to them.

All first round games in this division are on February 17, while the Second Round will be February 19.

First round games
February 17
  Second Round
Feb. 19
Feb. 23
Alternate site
Feb. 26
Alternate Site
Mar. 3 or 4
The Pyramid
Upper Half of Bracket        
Muir @ Bye Muir      
Barstow @ St. Lucy's
Mayfair @ La Puente  
Elsinore @ Pacifica
Artesia @ Bye Artesia  
Culver City @ South Hills
Burroughs Ridgecrest @ Palm Desert Los Altos
Los Altos @ Bye
Lower Half of Bracket      
Newbury Park @ Bye Newbury Park    
Bonita @ Burroughs Burbank
Antelope Valley @ Bye Antelope Valley
Dos Pueblos @ San Luis Obispo
Magnolia @ Laguna Hills    
Charter Oak @ La Habra
Brawley @ Bye Brawley
Central @ Bishop Amat

Essentially, through the first rounds, teams receiving a bye in the first round shall be the host team in the next round. All games with the excepiton fo the final round will start at 7:30 p.m. unless another time is mutually agreed upon and clearance is received from the CIF-SS Office.  Public coin flips will be held in the lobby of the CIF-SS Office at 9:00 a.m. ithe day following each playoff game [these coin flips will determine subsquent sites after the first round, i.e., which school will be the host].  Coin flips will be available after 9:30 a.m. and we'll try to keep everyone posted with them here. 

The Swish Award
Copyright SoCalHoops 1999 All rights reserved
Questions? Comments? Need Information?

Hosted by WebCom