The New Southern California Basketball Server
SoCalHoops High School News

Boys Division I-AA Bracket:
First Round Pairings--(Feb 13, 2000)

This is a very large bracket, a 64 team bracket involving 51 teams, so there will be some first round byes.  Basically, the top four teams (using the SCIBCA Polls) were the "seeded" teams, and they are at the extreme ends of both halves of the brackets.  The rest of the teams were placed such that first place league finishers (who also mostly happened to be ranked teams) got first round byes, where available.  Thereafter, the teams were placed using league finishes, geographical considerations were applied and so on.  While we can't say that the bracketing is perfect, the committee(which this year consisted of five CIF commissioners--(Ray Plutko, a former CIF Southern Section Commissioner, Dean Crowley, also a former CIF-SS Commissioner, Jim Staunton, current CIF-SS Commissioner, Hal Harkness, the former LA CIF Section Commissioner, and Paul Castillo, the new Assistant Commissioner of Basketball for the Southern Section) did a pretty fair and equitable job in our view.  But if you have complaints, talk to them.

All first round games are on February 16, which the exception of  the El Rancho v. Peninsula first round which will be played Tuesday, February 15, and the second round involving Rancho Cucamonga and the winner of that first round game, which will be played Thursday, Feb. 17 instead of on Friday like the rest of the second round games.

First round games
February 16
  Second Round
February 18
  Third Round
Feb 22
Feb. 25
Alternate Site
Feb. 29
March 4
@ The Pond
Upper half of Bracket          
First-Quarter Bracket          
Poly   @ Bye LB Poly        
Century   @ Saddleback
Alhambra   @ Bye Alhambra
Chino   @ Fontana
Oxnard   @ Bye Oxnard  
Canyon Springs   @ Warren
Peninsula   @ El Rancho (Tuesday Feb. 15) Rancho Cucamonga
Thurs. Feb. 17
Rancho Cucamonga   @ Bye
Second-Quarter Bracket      
Rialto   @ Bye Rialto    
Lakewood   @ Ontario
Downey   @ Santa Ana Valley View
Valley View   @ Bye
Arroyo Grande   @ Bye Arroyo Grande  
Murrieta Valley   @ Diamond Bar
AB Miller   @ Esperanza El Toro
El Toro   @ Bye
Lower Half of Bracket        
Third-Quarter bracket        
Ayala   @   Bye Ayala      
Highland   San Gabriel
Santa Maria   Crescenta Valley Leuzinger
Leuzinger   Bye
Etiwanda   Bye Etiwanda  
Yucaipa   Temecula Valley
Aliso Niguel   San Clemente  
Camarillo   Glendora
Fourth-Quarter Bracket      
Santa Ana Valley   LB Jordan      
Santa Monica   Righetti
Glendale   Channel Islands Los Alamitos
Los Alamitos   Bye
Millikan   Upland    
Fountain Valley   Capistrano Valley
Chaffey   San Gorgonio Eisenhower
Eisenhower   Bye

Essentially, through the first rounds, teams receiving a bye in the first round shall be the host team in the next round. All games with the excepiton fo the final round will start at 7:30 p.m. unless another time is mutually agreed upon and clearance is received from the CIF-SS Office.  Public coin flips will be held in the lobby of the CIF-SS Office at 9:00 a.m. ithe day following each playoff game [these coin flips will determine subsquent sites after the first round, i.e., which school will be the host].  Coin flips will be available after 9:30 a.m. and we'll try to keep everyone posted with them here. 

The Swish Award
Copyright SoCalHoops 1999 All rights reserved
Questions? Comments? Need Information?

Hosted by WebCom