The New Southern California Basketball Server
SoCalHoops High School News

Boys Division II-A Wild Card:
Newbury Park Wins--(Feb 13, 2000)

There was only one game played in all of Division II last night, and that was in Division II-A, a wild card game between Newbury Park and Dos Pueblos, for the right to play at Bolsa Grande on Friday night in the Division II-A First Round. Here's the result:

Newbury Park 62, Dos Pueblos 61--Newbury Park won it behind Javad Esfandiary's two free thorws with 36 seconds remaining.  For Newbury Park, Will Svitek had 21 points and ine rebounds and Matt Currie added another 15.   Newbury Park improved to 12-12 on the season.  Other scorers for Newbury Park were John Harris 8, Randy Meru 2, Chris Randall 2, and Shomari McLemore 3.  Dos Pueblos was led by Brett Holbrook (6'-4" Sr. F) with 22 points, well above his season average of 14.7, and Steven Greybill (6'-1" So. G) with 17, also above his season average of 13.1.  Others scoring for Dos Pueblos were Damon Jenkins 7, Aaron Mercer 2, Omar Cowan 3, Scott Roegner 4, and Ken Sherman 3.   Scoring by quarters: Dos Pueblos: 16  14  15  16--61; Newbury Park  19  18  9   16--62

This then is what the bracket now looks like with Newbury Park plugged in to the slot against Bolsa Grande.  Remember, all first round games in this division are on Friday, February 18, while the Second Round will be February 22.

First round games
February 18
  Second Round
February 22
Feb. 25
Alternate Site
Feb. 29
Alternate Site
March 4
The Pond
Upper half of Bracket        
Savanna @ Artesia        


Bloomington @ Southwest
South Hills @ Pacifica  
Temple City @ Laguna Hills
Culver City @ Elsinore    
Brawley @ Charter Oak
Servite @ Burbank Burroughs  
Lompoc @ Muir
Lower half of Bracket Second Round Quarterfinals Semifinals
Los Altos @ Mayfair      
Fullerton @ Rosemead
Barstow @ Bonita  
Newbury Park @ Bolsa Grande
Glenn @ Magnolia    
Bishop Amat @ Central Union
Burroughs Ridgecrest @ La Habra  
Rancho Alamitos @ Ocean View

Essentially, through the first rounds, teams receiving a bye in the first round shall be the host team in the next round. All games with the excepiton fo the final round will start at 7:30 p.m. unless another time is mutually agreed upon and clearance is received from the CIF-SS Office.  Public coin flips will be held in the lobby of the CIF-SS Office at 9:00 a.m. ithe day following each playoff game [these coin flips will determine subsquent sites after the first round, i.e., which school will be the host].  Coin flips will be available after 9:30 a.m. and we'll try to keep everyone posted with them here. 

The Swish Award
Copyright SoCalHoops 1999 All rights reserved
Questions? Comments? Need Information?

Hosted by WebCom