socalogo.gif (8739 bytes)
SoCalHoops Recruiting News

San Gabriel Valley All-Star Basketball
Game Participants Named--(April 19, 2002)

Depending upon which paper you read, the 5th Annual San Gabriel Valley Hall of Fame All-Star basketball games will be played either tonight, or next Friday night at Pasadena City College. The LA Times ran a story this week saying the games were this week (i.e., tonight), whereas the San Gabriel Valley Tribune ran a story today (April 19) saying the games will be held "next week" for where the truth lies, well, if you're not doing anything tonight and want to head over to Pasadena City College, you just might find a girls' all-star game at 6:00 p.m. and a boys' game at 8:00 p.m.

Whenever the games will be played, Steve Goldstein of La Salle will coach the West boys' team and Gordon Hamlow of Rowland will coach the East. Girls' coaches are Jerry DeLaurie of Blair for the West and Robert Miller of St. Paul for the East. Admission is $7. All proceeds are set to be dontated to the Hall of Fame's scholar-athlete program.

San Gabriel Valley Tribune boys basketball Player of the Year and LMU-signee John Haywood heads the list of players selected to compete in the game.   Haywood led Bishop Amat to its first CIF-Southern Section divisional title. He averaged just over 18 points per game and was selected Division III-AA Player of the Year. The senior also was selected All-State by CalHi Sports.  The East team also will include Glendora seniors Larry Monroe, Spencer Foster and Michael Mehanna, along with Covina's Jino La Bomme and Vernon Covington. Others include Sharif Elkhaldy (Charter Oak), Dontay Holloway (Wilson), Daniel Jones (Walnut), Antouan Mesropian (San Dimas) and VaShon Pruitt (Rowland).

On the girls' side, first team All-Valley players Kim Nakamura of Diamond Bar, Monica Quan of Walnut and Susan Grundy of San Dimas were chosen for the Girls' East team. Others selected include Kellie Bohannon (Los Altos), Javanne Johnson (South Hills), Stefanie Foster (Bonita), Vicky Guo (Wilson), Adiana Vega-Howard (Northview), Yvette Natividad (Gladstone), Tisha Waki (Charter Oak), Michelle Moore (Azusa), Ashley Mar (Diamond Bar), Keri Wosman (Bishop Amat) and T.J. Gacoscos (St. Lucy's). ShaRon Carter (Arroyo) and Sabrina Valenzuela (South El Monte) were chosen for the West team.

socalogomini1.gif (1928 bytes)
Copyright SoCalHoops 1997-2002
Questions? Comments? Need Information?